Search "" as a keyword...
Filter suggestionsContinue typing to see suggestions...
War of the Austrian Succession (1740-8)

Includes much of the mapping collected by William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland, as Captain General of the British army


Order of battle, 1746, Low Countries

Ordre de Battaille. / de l’Armée Alliée aux Bais Bas sous les Ordres de S: A: Roÿale Monseigneur Le Duc Charles de Lorraine en chef

c.1746 or later

Pencil, ink and watercolour on paper; laid down on linen | 37.3 x 49.0 cm (image) | RCIN 730066

An order of battle of the Allied army under the command of Prince Charles of Lorraine in 1746. War of the Austrian Succession (1740-48). The attribution to Hancko is made on stylistic grounds.

This order of battle gives the same information, with a few variations in spelling, as RCIN 730065 (also by Hancko) but lacks the colouring of the regimental rectangles according to the uniforms. Instead, the rectangles are coloured according to nationality: Austrian (green), British (red), Hanoverian (yellow), Hessian (blue), and Dutch (orange). The regiments are named.

The order of battle is in five lines, with the artillery placed between the second and third lines. The General Officers of the First Line are General Field Marshal Bathianÿ; Generals Sommerfeld, Daun, and Palffÿ; Lieutenant-Generals Ligonier, Prince de Hesse, Druchtleben, Kollowrath, Alercÿ, Brzykovskÿ, Philiberth; Major-Generals Rothes, Walbrun, Dalwig Hamerstein, Howarth, Wolff, Zastrau, Maidell, Aremberg, Haller, Lillers, Sincere, Gemming, Birbla, Bournonville, Spada; Brigadiers Bligh, Wreden, Borch, Block.

The General Officers of the Second Line are General Gaisrugg; Lieutenant-Generals Ligonier, Monsbach, Grüne, Hollÿ; Major-Generals Craffurd, Isenburg, Montignÿ, Klinckoustrom. Burghausen, Betlehem, Ilÿvarÿ, Arberg, Elberfeld, Durlach, Winckelman, Rudicatÿ; Brigadiers Adeleps, Duglas, Spörcken.

The General Officers of the Third Line are Le Prince de Waldeck en Chef; General de Cavallerie Prince Birckenfeldt; Lieutenant-Generals Coenders, Smissart, Schwartzenberg; Major-Generals Matha, Lindman, Willat, Wued, chach; Brigadiers Schagen, Elias, Rohode, von Hekeren, Hoeuft.

The General Officers of the Fourth Line are Lieutenant-Generals La Lippe, Aylva; Major-Generals Clinstra, Veldman, Cannenboury; Brigadiers Vrÿbergen, Hiemstra, Grotenraj, Schlippenbach.

The General Officers of the Fifth Line are Lieutenant-Generals Trips and Baronaÿ; Major-Generals Prince Esterhazÿ and Moroz.

  • ? François Hancko (active 1741-8) (draughtsman)

  • Watermark: Fleur-de-lys; countermark: J HONIG

    Mark, stamped: 561

    Condition: four fold lines; some foxing on recto, much more pronounced on verso

  • 36.7 x 48.4 cm (neatline)

    37.3 x 49.0 cm (image)

    37.5 x 49.5 cm (sheet)

  • Manuscript title:

    Ordre de Battaille. / de l’Armée Alliée aux Bais Bas sous les Ordres de S: A: Roÿale Monseigneur Le Duc Charles de Lorraine en chef. [top, inside neatline]


    George III heading: Order of Battle 1746.

    Other annotations (Recto) [top centre, after first line of title, in Shultz’s hand, ink:] 1746; [top right, black pencil, in Schultz's or Mason's hand?:] 62. (Verso) [bottom left, black pencil:] 37; [top left, black pencil:] VI/37; [top left, black pencil:] XI/[?18]; [top right, ink or black pencil, obscured by linen:] 62.; [top right, ink, crossed out in red pencil, obscured by white paper strip:] Order of Battle 1746.

    George III catalogue entry:

    Order of Battle Ordre de Bataille de l’Armée Alliée aux Pais Bas sous les ordres du Duc Charles de Lorraine en 1746. MS.

Page revisions

  • 14 March 2024