Mobile menu
Our sites are temporarily closed. More info. Browse the Collection or shop online

Sieges, marches, encampments and battles in Germany, Italy and the Netherlands


Order of battle of Dutch and English armies, Bethlem, 1708

Ordre de Bataille / De L’Armée de Leurs Haute Puÿssances les Etats D’Holland: Dans le Camps de Bethlehem Le = 8me de Juin = i708 1708 or later

Pencil, pen, ink and watercolour on thin paper; pricking through | 22.2 x 34.2 cm (image and sheet) | RCIN 726001

Your share link is...


An order of battle of the Dutch and English armies, under the command of Henry, Count of Nassau, Lord of Overkirk [Hendrik van Nassau, Heer van Ouderkerk] (1640-1708), and John Churchill, 1st Duke of Marlborough (1650-1722), at the camp at Bethlem in Flanders, 8 June 1708. War of the Spanish Succession (1701-14).

The General Officers of the First Line are Generals Duc de Würtemb: Comte De Tillÿ, Prince D'Orange, Mÿl=or Churchil; Lieutenant-Generals Dompre, Oostfriese, Albemarle, Heuklom, Pr.ce Holst: Becq, Oxenstiern, Widders, Orcknaÿ, Bulou, Roos, Wood, Lumleÿ; Major-Generals Rantzau, Athlone, Pr:ce D'ouvergne, Lalecq, Hess: Homb: Swertzel, Week, Soutland, Mourraÿ, Lauder, Rantzau, Merredith, Argÿl, Webb, Bauditz, S:t Laurentz, Palmes, Cadogam; [Brigadiers] Brochtorff, Plattenburg, Baldwÿn, Rechtern, M: de. Nassau, Schmettau, Schlippenbach, Boisset, Wassenar, Wertmüller, Nassau Wouderberg, Ranck, Gauvain, Sabine, Primrose, Nortingraÿ, Temple, Chanclous, Pentz, Evans, Siebourg, Kellum, Stairs.

The General Officers of the Second Line are General Comte De Lottum, Lieutenant-Generals Rantzau, Hompesch, Oÿen, Topff, Fagel, Sparr, Dedem, Natzemar; Major-Generals Fittinghoff, Pr:ce D'Hesse, Erbach, Hohndorff, Willats, Collÿars, Weldern, Palland, Berensd: Tetlau, Dänhoff, Bodtmer, Devehne; [Brigadiers] Dewitz, Grovestein, Pr:ce Würtemberg, Starckenberg, Eck, Du Portal, Bielcke, Gaudecker, Huffel, Elst, Berner, Keppel, Du Bruille, Gromeau, Croon, Troussel, Borck, Matha, Rheden, Spaan, Hackeborn.

The officer in command of the Dutch artillery is Colonel D'Ÿssel, and in charge of the English artillery is Colonel Hübkes. All the regiments are named.

  • Anonymous (cartographer)

  • Watermark: A horn in a crowned shield, a ‘4’ below, suspending the initials WR above the letters AI

    Mark, stamped: 119

    Condition: four fold lines; worn along folds; trimmed to edge of image; considerable foxing. Verso: surface dirt on outer fold panels

  • 22.2 x 34.2 cm (image and sheet)

  • Manuscript title:

    Ordre de Bataille / De L’Armée de Leurs Haute Puÿssances les Etats D’Holland: Dans le Camps de Bethlehem Le = 8me de Juin = i708.

    Additional text:

    [bottom left, a summary of the numbers of battalions (112), squadrons of horse (113) and squadrons of dragoons (67)]


    George III heading: Order of Battle at Betlehem 8 June 1708.

    Other annotations: (Recto) none. (Verso) [top left, red pencil:] 1/44; [top right, black pencil:] 1708.

    George III catalogue entry:

    Order of Battle Ordre de Bataille de l'Armée des Etats d'Hollande dans le Camp de Bethlehem le 8 de Juin 1708. MS. [The same entry occurs under the heading Betlehem.]

  • Probably from the collection of military and naval maps and prints formed by Prince William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland (1721-65), third son of George II; subsequently acquired by George III (1738-1820)


  • Subject(s)

    Bethlehem now part of Herent, Flanders, Belgium (50°54'31"N 04°40'14"E)